Notices for planetlab: message number 00033
[Date Prev][Date Next][Date Index]

CFP: Workshop on Programmable Routers for Extensible Services of TOmorrow (PRESTO 2009)

--  PRESTO 2009  --

Workshop on Programmable Routers for Extensible Services of TOmorrow
August 22nd 2009
Co-located with ACM SIGCOMM 2009 in Barcelona, Spain.


There continues to be great interest in the networking research
community in re-architecting the distribution of functions in IP
networks. These efforts can be described as a dis-aggregation of
router and switch functionality into various components and
well-defined interfaces, towards the goal of deploying richer services
and easing  management of the network. Efforts in this space span the
range from more sophisticated configuration interfaces, to open
application programming interfaces (APIs) that allow specialized
control and data plane functions on commercial routers, to open
software, open firmware, and open hardware platforms that enable
tremendous flexibility in the functionality of network equipment.

While these open interfaces continue to evolve, many have reached a
level of maturity that allow practitioners to create holistic network
centric functions and services by  leveraging the available low level
per-device mechanisms. Indeed, programmable network elements hold the
promise of accelerating innovation and service deployment. At the same
time, programmability could exacerbate already challenging network
management tasks.

As with previous PRESTO workshops, this session will provide a forum
for the exchange of ideas between researchers and industry
practitioners, with a goal of driving service innovation in IP
networks using novel extensible router and switch architectures.

Specific areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Abstractions for programmable network elements. (Do we need
programmability? How close to the "metal" should programmability be?
E.g., configuration interfaces versus open APIs versus completely open
platforms. Programming languages for programmable network elements.)

- Architectures for open/programmable network elements,
including transport, wireless and packet forwarding devices.

- Efficient and flexible data plane programmability. (E.g., firmware
versus multi-core platforms.)

- Cross-layer aware programmability.

- Network element virtualization and the interaction between
programmability and virtualization.

- Network composition, configuration and provisioning in virtualized

- Architectures, services and/or service features enabled by

- The impact of programmability on network management and operations.

Submission instructions

The workshop solicits original papers on completed work, position
papers, and/or work-in-progress papers on the challenges raised
above. Papers that bring out new and interesting approaches at an
early stage of their development are very welcome, as are papers that
describe industry efforts related to the CFP.

Submissions must be no greater than 6 pages in length, must be a PDF
file and must follow the formatting guidelines at
http://www.sigcomm.org/sigcomm2009/.  Submissions that deviate from
these guidelines will be rejected without  consideration. Authors of
accepted papers are expected to present their papers at the workshop.

Submissions must be original work not under review at any other
workshop, conference, or journal.

Papers can be submitted through the submission site at

Important Dates

Abstract submissions due:    Wednesday, March 11 2009 at midnight EDT
Paper submissions due:        Wednesday, March 18 2009 at midnight EDT
Acceptance Notification:    Monday, April 13 2009
Camera Ready Due:        Friday, May 8 2009
Workshop:                Friday, August 21 2009

Program Chairs:

Patrick Crowley, Washington University in St. Louis
Dave Maltz, Microsoft Research
Kobus Van der Merwe, AT&T Labs - Research

Program Committee:

Rahul Aggarwal, Juniper Networks
Fred Baker, Cisco Systems
Patrick Crowley, Washington University in St. Louis
Bruce Davie, Cisco Systems
Nick Feamster, Georgia Tech
Paul Francis, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems
Tim Griffin, University of Cambridge
T.V. Lakshman, Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs
Vasilis Maglaris, National Technical University of Athens
Dave Maltz, Microsoft Research
Martin May, Thomson Paris Research Lab
Nick McKeown, Stanford University
David McDysan, Verizon
Eugene Ng, Rice University
Cornel Pampu, Huawei Technologies
Sylvia Ratnasamy, Intel Research
Jennifer Rexford, Princeton University
Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University
John Scudder, Juniper Networks
Jonathan Smith, University of Pennsylvania
Kobus Van der Merwe, AT&T Labs - Research

Steering Committee:

Patrick Crowley, Washington University in St. Louis
T.V. Lakshman, Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs
Dave Maltz, Microsoft Research
Nick McKeown, Stanford University
Jennifer Rexford, Princeton University
Kobus Van der Merwe, AT&T Labs - Research